Museum of the History of Riga and Navigation is one of the oldest in Europe, and the oldest public museum in Latvia and Baltics.
It was established on 22 February 1773 by a decision of Riga town council. The basis for this museum was a scientific and arts collection of Riga doctor Nikolaus von Himzel, the collection was dedicated to the city and after his death was also given to the city.
Nowadays the Museum of the History of Riga and Navigation has more than half a million of items in its collection that are divided into 80 exhibitions: “History of Riga”, “The history of Latvian Navigation”, “Silver Parlour” and “Parlour of Marta Alberinga”.
As the museum is situated in the architectural monument of 13th-20th century - Riga Dome complex, the visitors have a possibility to visit also Column hall.
Museum has three branches
|Entrance to the exhibition|
|Pensioners, students||0,71 €|
2 adults +2 pupils
( from 15 people )
| - Pre-school children
- The teacher accompanying children, school groups
- Disabled (with ID)
- The person accompanying the child - disabled - Team leaders (tour guides)
May - September
10.00 - 17.00
12.00 - 19.00
October - April
11.00 - 17.00
|Address: Palasta street 4, Riga, LV 1050, Latvia
T. +71 67356676,