Skriveru dendrological park was established in 1891 thanks to the Duke Maximillian von Sivers. The area is 17 ha but with the plants it amounts to 398 ha in total. As the park was the visiting-card of baltic german dukes famous architects V.Engelharts and F.Lode contributed to its development.
In the middle of the park there was a two-floor palace that unfortunately was burned by the revolutionaries in 1905. Only doorway stairs, a fragment of the foundation, cards table, fountain, which operation was ensured by special water bilge - lake of the hill manor, have left.
The park is developed in English style, there are two terraces that are divided into 20 floristic regions of the north hemisphere where 20 regions are occupied only to Latvian flora.
There are 372 different species of trees and bushes growing in theSkriveru dendrological park, 30 of them are rather rare (before the WWI there were 679 species of plants) and it is the reason why every year this place is visited by delegations of dendrologists from all over the world.
|In the Park grows around 30 species, which is rare in the world|
|Address: Skrīveri municipality, Skrīveri parish|